Spot the trend….

I thought I’d do something a little different today and see if you can spot the trend…? I have slowly seen more and more of this look, and I would love hear your opinion on it! For the moment I am still sitting on the fence, but after finding all these lovely rooms I am certainly warming to the idea! So lets see if you can spot the similarity between the next 2 rooms…

via – Pinterest

 

via – the DesignPage

 

So can you guess what it is? I’ll give you a couple more rooms that should make it really obvious…

via – Sharart

 

via – Trendey

 

Guessed it yet? I’m, talking about layering rugs. Part of me is saying why? Do these people just have too much money that they want to buy one oversized rug and then cover it up with a second? Or maybe their kids have spilt something on the first? While the other half of me is saying yes! I can have both rugs, why choose one if you can have 2 right?  2 colours, 2 textures 2 styles, yay! Where ever or however this trend started I can see it catching on, so are you going to jump on board or are you not so keen on the layered rug look? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Here are a few more rooms that I couldn’t help but share.

via- Apartment Therapy

 

via- Decorpad

 

via – That Inspirational Girl

 

The great thing about this look is that you can mix and match in unlimited combinations, I particularly like the heavy functional hemp style rugs with a lovely soft patterned rug on top like the first room with the vintage Beni Ourain rug = love To see more you can check out my Pinterest board here, there were just too many to post! So what do you think? Good, bad or still on the fence like me?

 

Rochelle xx

 

 

4 thoughts on “Spot the trend….

  1. Great Combinatuions! The tribal graphics of Moroccan Beni Ourain rugs and Berber pillows pair well with contemporary or traditional designs. Our Beni Ourain shags have a simple harlequin pattern, a 1960s vibe and a price that’s half the cost in major rug dealers.
    Please visit my collection of dazzling Beni Ourain Rugs here: http://themoroccanroom.com/beni_ourain_rugs.html I would love to hear your thoughts.

    Ali
    The Moroccan Room

  2. I did this in my living room about 2 years ago, posted on a design site and got a lot of “thumbs down” comments. I layered a cowhide over a sisal rug. I loved it then and still loving it now.

    Love the rooms you posted too!

    1. Really? I guess everyone has their own preferences, and that’s what makes us all individual. As long as you love the look that’s all that matters! And I’m with you! I think layered rugs look great!
      Thanks for the lovely comment!

Leave a Reply

