Bed Styling – How many cushions are too many?

How many cushions do you have on your bed? Too few and you may think your bed doesn’t look ‘styled’, though in some homes this simple approach works beautifully! Too many cushions on the other hand and you spend half the night taking cushions off the bed each night – remember the scene with Ben Stiller and Jennifer Anniston ‘liberating’ themselves from the daily cushion routine, in Along Came Polly? I found the clip on YouTube here, I had to watch it again for a little laugh – it’s so silly, yet so true!

So do you think you have found the perfect balance? I don’t think there is any right or wrong answer to this silly question, it all comes down to personal taste and the ‘look’ you are wanting to achieve in your bedroom. I have to say, I am closer to the too many cushions than the bare minimal. It was something I was taught when working as a merchandiser, the store I was in had strict guidelines on how to display cushions on beds and on lounges – the number, the placement, the balance… Now it seems our bedroom is following those same strict guidelines, something I think I might rebel against soon, though it is a difficult habit to break! and what are the alternatives?

Here are some examples I found of different bed cushion displays, from minimal to elaborate, which one are you?

via – Mochatini

 

 via- Houzz

 

via- Quirky Musings of a TwentySomething

 

via- La Dolce Vita

 

 via – Pillows and Peonies

 

via – Studio of Decorative Arts

 

via- The Lennox

 

via- Decor Pad

 

via- Pink Flamingo

 

via- Houzz 

  

 These are only a few of the gorgeous bedrooms I came across, and as you can see there are countless ways to style your bed! Not only in the way you place the cushions, but also the selection of the pillows and covers themself… White or colourful, plain, striped, patterned or floral? Formal and structured with a set place for each cushion, or do you prefer the ‘just tossed together’ kind of look? I have to say, I will still continue with the pillow shuffle each night and morning, some stacked some standing, different sizes and shapes, plain and embellished, it just seems to complete the room. What do you think?

 

Rochelle xx 

3 thoughts on “Bed Styling – How many cushions are too many?

  1. I notice that none of the cushions are placed on a diagonal, I have my square cushions on a diagonal infront of the contrasting rectangle ones with a long round “tube style” one infront of those… is this against the rules? 😉
    I actually love the uniformed look… I am going to try it when i get home…
    Jx

      1. I liked it… nice and uniformed, rather than the “thrown on the bed” look.. which is exactly what it was… cushions just thrown on the bed… 😉

Leave a Reply

