My Ideal Living Room

I just can not get this image out of my head… It has all of my favourite things styled together into the perfect living room!

Here are a few of my favourite things…

High coffered ceilings – I just love the way high ceilings create such a grand space. This is accentuated with the beautiful soft drapes that frame the large windows, bringing in lots of natural light.

A classic sofa – a timeless style that manages to look casual, inviting, luxurious and elegant all at once! I love the tufting detailing on the seat cushion.

Feature chairs – the pair of accent Louis XVI chairs in a green ikat style fabric add a punch of colour and contrast to the room while the classic Warren Platner Side chair is a design icon.

Mismatched tables – I think the different accent tables are one of the key pieces to making this space look so relaxed and inviting. The combination of a glamorous brass side table, ceramic chinese stool and the lacquered bamboo base coffee table create a ‘just thrown together’ eclectic kind of look.

Not only does this room seem to have the furniture I would love to furnish our house in, but it also has the right balance of bold patterns and pops of colour, with a little bit of golden glamour! I found this beautiful space over at Elle Decor, designed by Iain Halliday, (who until now I have to say I was not familiar with his work) but after discovering this beautiful room and many more on the Burley Katon Halliday website, I will be investigating further and promise to post more of his work here soon…

Divine, isn’t it! I could move in tomorrow… How about you?

Rochelle xx

Leave a Reply

