Storage Solutions- Living Room

I’m currently half-way through cooking up a storm for a party tonight, a rainbow layer cake! Yum!

Anyway, I thought I would move in to the living room today, for the next part in my storage solutions series. Maybe I’ll look into kitchens for next week…

There are so many different things that can gather in a living room, and before you know it you have piles of magazines, books, cds and or dvds to name a few… If you have kids, it’s a whole different story – well, maybe it’s all of the above, plus masses of toys! (I know that is the case with our house!) But as I have said before, the key to a tidy house, is having the right kind of storage, and enough of it to store all the odd bits and pieces you may collect over time.

Now you don’t have to go to this extreme and dedicate an entire wall for all your books and magazines; then again I know some people would easily be able to fill a bookshelf like this! I do love the heavy curtain that can be pulled across- particularly if your books aren’t as tidy as this!

How about this for an idea! If you are like me, you will have countless magazines piling up around the house. If you can’t bear to throw them out just yet, why not turn them into a stool, for extra seating or as a table?

There are plenty of coffee tables out there that either have a shelf or drawers underneath so you can display your things nicely, or as they have done here used boxes to hide bits and pieces in. I love the little shelves on the wall too, a great storage solution, while also adding a point of interest to the room.

Another alternative to hide things away, and perfect for the kids’ toys is a storage ottoman. Get yourself a nice tray to use on top and you can still look ultra glamorous without the clutter!

For some people, this bohemian look might look a little too cluttered, while others might love it! Just use ideas from the bits you like, and scrap the rest. The long shelves running the length of the wall allows you to display all sorts of things – photos and things you may have collected while travelling, etc. And I love the use of a dark mirror behind the shelves, bouncing light back into the room, which will help give the illusion of space. Another clever idea here is the ottomans that have been pushed back against the mirror when not in use; just pull them out when you want to put your feet up or need extra seating!

Maximise every little space you have. If you have an odd little corner like this, why not add a bookshelf? If you don’t want a permanent bookshelf, you can use a freestanding one, or even a small hall table.

 And finally I just love this! Very Alice in Wonderlandish! Created by Thomas Wold, it’s a very cool way to use old cabinets and create a real focal point for a room- with plenty of storage too! If you love this, be sure to check out more of his work here.

I’d better finish my cake now; I hope I have inspired you today. Did you have a favourite room?

Rochelle xx

Image Credits- 1-Super Cozy World Home, 2-Carrie Can, 4,5,6,7-House to Home, 8-Thomas Wold

One thought on “Storage Solutions- Living Room

  1. I would really like to know where I can find that blue storage ottoman above. Could anyone tell me where to find it?

Leave a Reply

